ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India – The Cricket World Cup is officially known as ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. It is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket and is organized by International Cricket Council (ICC). ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is held every four years. Cricket WC is one of the world’s most viewed sporting events and is regarded as the “flagship event of the international cricket calendar” by the ICC.

Similarly, the Women’s Cricket World Cup is held for the women’s 50-over tournament. ICC World Test Championship is for the Test tournament. ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is a Twenty20 tournament.

ICC Cricket World Cup
Image: ICC / Twitter

In June 1975, The first World Cup was held in England with the first ODI cricket match. England is the present champion of the 2019 World Cup edition. Australia won the tournament five times, India and West Indies twice each, while Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England won it once each.

The 2023 World Cup tournament will be held in India and the next, 2027 World Cup will be conducted jointly in South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia.

World Cup Trophy Made Of?

The current trophy is made from silver and gilt and features a golden globe held up by three silver columns, representing the three fundamental aspects of cricket: batting, bowling and fielding.

History of Cricket World Cup

The 1st international cricket match was held between Canada and the United States, on 24 and 25 September 1844. Cricket was included as an Olympic sport at the 1900 Paris Games, where Great Britain won the gold medal against France.

England, Australia and South Africa played the first multilateral competition at the international level in 1912.

Cricket World Cup (WC 1975)

In 1975, England hosted the inaugural Cricket World Cup which was started on 7 June. The first three events were held in England and are officially called the Prudential Cup after the sponsors Prudential plc. players wore cricket whites and used red cricket balls.

Eight teams including Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, and East Africa participated in the first tournament. The 1975 Cricket World Cup was won by West Indies, who defeated Australia by 17 runs in the final at Lord’s.

Facts About Cricket WC 1975

  • West Indies’s Roy Fredricks was the first batsman to be hit-wicket in ODI.
  • South Africa was banned from international cricket due to apartheid.

Cricket World Cup (WC 1979)

The 1979 World Cup was held in England for a second consecutive year. The Final match was won by West Indies who defeated hosts England by 92 runs. The WC 1979 included non-Test playing teams for the World Cup.

Cricket World Cup (WC 1983)

England hosted the WC in 1983 for a third consecutive time. for the first time, when a fielding circle of 30 yards (27 m) away from the stumps was introduced. India was the winner of the Cricket World Cup 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev and defeated the West Indies by 43 runs in the final.

Cricket World Cup (WC 1987)

The 1987 tournament was jointly hosted by India and Pakistan. it was the first time when the tournament was held outside England. It was the 50 overs per innings tournament due to the shorter daylight hours in the Indian subcontinent. Australia won the championship by beating England by 7 runs in the final.

Cricket World Cup (WC 1992)

The 1992 World Cup was conducted in Australia and New Zealand. Pakistan defeated England by 22 runs in the final and became the winner.

Facts About Cricket WC 1992

  • New rules were introduced by Board including coloured clothing, white balls, day/night matches, and a change to the fielding restriction rules.
  • South African cricket team participated in the tournament.

Cricket World Cup (WC 1996)

The 1996 championship was conducted in the Indian subcontinent for a second time. Sri Lanka won the semi-final match against India at Eden Gardens. Sri Lanka won their maiden championship by beating Australia by seven wickets in the final at Lahore, Pakistan.

Facts About Cricket WC 1996

  • In the semi-final, India vs Sri Lanka match was abandoned after crowd unrest broke out in protest against the Indian performance.

Cricket World Cup (WC 1999)

World Cup 1999 was hosted by England and was also held in Scotland, Ireland, Wales and the Netherlands. Australia won the final match against Pakistan with eight wickets in hand.

Cricket World Cup (WC 2003)

The 2003 World Cup was hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya and 14 teams participated in the event. In the final, Australia scored 359 runs for the loss of 2 wickets, which was the largest ever total in a final, conquering India by 125 runs.

Cricket World Cup (WC 2007)

In 2007, the tournament was hosted by the West Indies. Australia beat Sri Lanka in the final by 53 runs (D/L) in farcical light conditions. Australia Team extended their undefeated run in the World Cup to 29 matches and won 3 straight championships.


  • Pakistan lost to Ireland in the group stage.
  • Pakistani coach Bob Woolmer was found dead in his hotel room.
  • As per the Jamaican police investigation, he died of heart failure.

Cricket World Cup (WC 2011)

India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh together hosted the 2011 World Cup. India won their 2nd World Cup title by defeating Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and made India the first country to win the World Cup at home.


  • Pakistan was removed from its hosting rights following the terrorist attack on the Sri Lankan cricket team in 2009.
  • Australia’s unbeaten streak of 35 World Cup matches was ended by Pakistan.
  • For the first time, two Asian countries played World Cup Final.

Cricket World Cup (WC 2015)

Australia and New Zealand jointly hosted the 2015 World Cup. Australia conquered New Zealand by 7 wickets in the final at Melbourne to win the World Cup for the 5th time.

Cricket World Cup (WC 2019)

England and Wales hosted the 2019 World Cup. England got the victory over New Zealand due to a greater boundary count. both teams scored 241 after 50 overs and the match had a super over, after which the scores were again tied at 15.


  • New Zealand defeated India in the first semi-final on the reserve day due to rain.

Cricket World Cup (WC 2023)

India will host the 2023 ICC ODI World Cup in a number of cities across the country. The tournament will be held from October 5th, 2023, to November 19, 2023. It will feature 10 teams which will be divided into two groups of five, with each team playing four matches in the group stage. The top four teams from each group will go to the knockout stage including quarterfinals, semifinals, and a final.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023
ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 (Official Logo)

Cricket World Cup (WC 2027)

The 2027 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the 14th edition of the Cricket World Cup, a quadrennial One Day International (ODI) cricket tournament played by men’s national teams and will be organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The tournament is scheduled to be hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia in October–November 2027. This will be the 2nd time that South Africa and Zimbabwe will co-host the tournament, Prior to this, both nations co-hosted the 2003 edition, while Namibia will host the World Cup for the first time. The tournament will have 14 teams and 54 matches will be held.

Cricket World Cup (WC 2031)

Leave a comment